Samson C01U USB Condenser Mic Review

Posted on January 30, 2010

1



I have owned several mics in the past. As I recall, the first one that I used in my shows was an old 1980’s Macintosh Mic. It was incredible at the time, but as the years went on the quality just got worse. Eventually, I found a great replacement in the form of a headset mic. I don’t recall the model, but I do remember it having phenomenal quality. I used it for several months as a standalone mic for my screencasts, but once I started making other videos that included my face, I didn’t want to have a headset on. So, I went out and managed to find an old grey condenser mic lying around. I used it for well over a year making videos, and the gain was incredible. I had it sitting on my desk behind me, and even though the placement was awkward, it picked up incredibly well. But then one day it just died, and I had to revert back to the headset. I used the headset for around a year, with the quality getting worse and worse with every video I made, until just this Christmas, when I received a brand new Samson C01U USB Condenser microphone. After using it for a few weeks with exceptional results, I have decided that it is time for a review.

Let’s start with the looks, the mic is quite large, after seeing pictures of it I had thought that it was rather small, but as I held it in my hands, I realized that it was actually pretty big. My hand fits around it snugly with just a bit of room to spare, and it is somewhat hefty when you pick it up. It has a nice professional wire mesh that looks great, and the body is a nice sleek, durable, silver shell. After using it in my videos for a while, I have gotten quite a few remarks about how professional it looks. This is the only mic so far that I have actually wanted to show in my videos! It looks like it would feel right at home in a professional recording studio, or even on the set of a movie, or TV production.

Of course, looks are nothing unless you get good sound quality as well, and that is exactly what the Samson delivers. The gain on the C01U is really incredible. Back a few weeks ago when I did the 2-hour live show with it, you could hear me in the background talking to other people, even though I was trying to be as quiet as possible! The sound quality is crisp and clean up close, but it still continues to perform great even at distance! Pops are a thing of the past with this mic, even when I get right up to the mic the sound still comes through nice and clean, with virtually no distortion or noise.

The setup? Simple. Because this is a USB mic, pretty much all I had to do was plug it in, and it was showtime! Windows 7 recognized it right away, and all I had to do was click a few buttons in Camtasia Studio 6, and I was all ready to record a great sounding video!

Overall, I think that if you want to get a great, professional mic with outstanding quality and great gain and durability, then you should consider picking up the Samson C01U USB Condenser mic for around $70.

Posted in: Microphones