Apple iPad Slated For Release In March

Posted on January 27, 2010

1



Over the last few weeks, Apple has got a lot of hype about its new tablet device–called the iPad– which was announced today at Apple’s “Come See Our Latest Creation” event in California. Steve Jobs received a standing ovation when he announced the product and demonstrated it to the crowd, but the question remains: is it worth it?

Let’s take a look at the specs: it has a 9.7 inch LED multi-touch display (1024×768 resolution), comes in 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB models, has a 1GHz Apple A4 processor, and a lithium-polymer battery with an expected life of up to 10 hours.

Also, it comes with the same functionality that you can expect from the iPhone and iPod Touch. Things like:

Safari

The built-in Safari web browser lets you glide through full-sized web pages using your fingers. You can view pages in landscape or portrait modes, and all you have to do to resize the page is pinch with your fingers. if you are already familiar with Safari on the iPod Touch or iPhone, then you should feel right at home with Safari on the iPad.

Mail

Unlike Safari, Mail on the iPad is quite a bit different from Mail on the iPhone. When operating in landscape mode, you see a split-screen view of your opened mail on the right side, and your inbox on the right side. This makes navigating Mail on the iPad seem similar to navigating Mail on a desktop computer. Of course, if you want to only see the opened mail, just rotate the device back into portrait mode. Photos are viewable in Mail, and you can even save them to your iPad using the built-in Photos app.

Photos

The Photos application on the iPad is great for storing and viewing all your photos. As you can see in the picture, the iPad displays your albums in stacks. If you want to view the entire album, just pinch the stack, and the photos will appear. On the go? You can buy the Apple Camera Connection Kit and import photos to your iPad wherever you are!

Videos

The iPad is a great portable media player. Download movies on iTunes and then watch them on the high-resolution 9.7 inch display. You can watch HD movies, TV shows, and even podcasts on the iPad! Also, with the built-in YouTube app you can watch HD YouTube videos on the go! Log into your account and rate, comment, and favorite YouTube videos as well!

iPod + iTunes

Of course; no portable Apple device could feel complete without iPod and iTunes! The two apps work seamlessly together to bring you the best music and video experience possible when you’re traveling. Using iTunes, you can download music, movies, podcasts, and TV shows. Then, listen to your music and Podcasts using iPod! The iPod app looks reminiscent of iTunes for the desktop. You can browse through all your songs and podcasts while still having all your music controls at the top, no matter where you go! You can listen to music using the built-in speaker, or–using the built-in Bluetooth 2.1– use Bluetooth headphones!

App Store

The App Store that we all know and love for the iPhone and iPod Touch is back on the iPad– and better than ever! Not only can you download classic Apps–and even import existing apps from your iPhone–but you can also download iPad-specific apps that take full advantage of the iPad’s massive screen.

iBooks

With the iPad, you can now take all your favorite books around with you without taking up all the space of a normal book! Using the built-in iBookstore, you can buy your favorite books straight from the device! Everything from classics to new bestsellers is–literally–right at your fingertips!

So there’s the iPad in all its glory. Seems like a great Apple netbook to me, but I still have some issues with it.

  • Portability: with an iPod Touch, I can bring all my stuff (Music, Movies, Pictures,etc..) around with me in my pocket. I take my iPod literally everywhere I go– to school, to my friends house, on vacation. It’s never that far away from me. But the iPad takes much of this portability away. For instance, I can’t take it to school with me in my pocket, nor can I take it with me when I go for a walk. Sure, I can take it with me in a backpack whenever I go on a trip, but it seems like it’s… detached from me. I don’t get the feeling I get when I have my iPod Touch by my side; always ready. So for this reason, even though I am getting the iPad, my Touch is still going to remain a close travelling buddy of mine for years to come.
  • Capacity: the iPad comes in three different sizes: 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB. But I wish that it came in larger sizes. Apple is showing off the iPad’s multimedia prowess to everyone, but the truth is that if you have a massive collection of Photos, ebooks, Music, and movies, then you can’t really fit them all on the iPad. If the iPad is meant to compete with netbooks, that it should at least have the hard drive capacity of them!

However, all in all, I think that the iPad will be a welcome addition to my tech family when it is released in March. The prices? You can pick up a 16GB model for $499 (Wifi model) and $629 (3G model). the Wifi model is scheduled for release this March, and the 3G version will come out in April.

Posted in: Apple, iPad