PS3 vs XBOX 360

Posted on November 23, 2009

1



It seems like the battle between Sony’s Playstation 3  and Microsoft’s XBOX 360 has been going on since the beginning of time. Fans of each console arguing and arguing and well…. getting absolutely nowhere. In this article, I am going to try and give my most unbiased thoughts on both systems (seeing as I own both) and let you decide which one you like better. Because when it all boils down to it, it’s YOUR choice.

So, I’m going to compare the consoles in three different areas: Price, Media Sharing, and Online Play. Starting with…

Price

Both consoles (The PS3 Slim and the Xbox 360 Elite) are priced at $299.99. However, they are not actually priced the same. If you think about it, it makes perfect sense. Here’s why:

The Xbox console is $299.99. The wireless adapter is an extra $80. Xbox Live subscriptions are around $110 per year. So if you do the math, you actually spend $489.99 on the 360… and still $299.99 on the PS3. Not to mention the fact that the price keeps going up every year for the Xbox–after five years it goes over $1000!

Media Sharing

The Xbox 360 is legendary for media sharing. It can stream music, movies, and pictures from Windows Media Center on your PC. The only problem with this is that it cannot stream from Mac OSX or Linux without (sometimes costly) third-party software. On the other hand, the PS3 is completely compatible with almost any configuration you can through at it.

Online Play

PS3 has great online play, I’ll give it that. Not only do you not have to pay for access, but you also don’t have to pay to add on a wireless adapter. Why? Because it already has one! This is one of the problems with Xbox Live; you can’t just get the console and play. When I got my Xbox 360, I had to wait MONTHS to get online service! When I got my PS3 I was able to play online the same day!

Of course, even with they extra price and hassle you just can’t beat the features and user base of XBL. Sure, the PS3 has many users and great online play right out of the box, but Xbox Live is a whole other story. First, you get the great voice chat and voice messaging  of Xbox Live. Now, the PS3 does support voice chat but hardly anyone uses it. The 360 COMES WITH A HEADSET!!!! Has this ever occurred to you Sony? Next to that, you get…. well not much. Both the 360 and PS3 have online downloadable game stores, but I really have to give it to Sony here for the great, easy to use design of the PlayStation Store. Not to mention that the PlayStation Store has more games than the Xbox service offers. On the other hand, Xbox offers add-ons to games that you already have. Sony doesn’t do this (for most of it’s games).

 

Now, my personal favorite console is the 360, but that’s just my opinion. I put all this info here in order to try and guide you towards making a sensible purchase. Now, I’m not telling you to go buy one or the other– I just put down the basic info, you can do the rest.

 


