My Dream Laptop

Posted on April 17, 2009

1



I really need a laptop. I travel alot, so I need it to have a long battery life, I want performance for video editing. I also want a 17 inch screen and a webcam. It would also be nice if it has a good graphics card because I might do some gaming, although that’s not mandatory. I want it to be under $2500.

Ok, ok that sounds alot like that Microsoft commercial. But that’s where the idea came from! So, without any ado, let’s begin!

After a few hours of comparing specs and prices online, I have finally settled with the HP Pavillion dv7-1200. It meets all my needs. Let’s take a look at the specs:

  • The processor is a superfast AMD Turion X2 RM-74 Dual Core Mobile Processor running at 2.20 GHz. Great for doing what I need it to do.
  • It comes with Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit but I’ll downgrade to Windows XP Professional 64 bit when I get it. That should add about an hour or two to the battery life as well as give it a nice performance boost.
  • Comes with 4 gigs of RAM for intensive video editing or other stuff.
  • Comes with a hefty 400 GB SATA hard drive spinning at 5400 rpm. Great for storing videos.
  • Comes with a LightScribe Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD±R/RW Double Layer, great for watching HD movies on the go.
  • Also great for watching videos is the 17 inch HP brightview widescreen display. I love Hp’s screens.
  • 1918 MB of video graphics memory.
  • It also comes with an integrated webcam and mic, perfect for making YouTube videos on the go.
  • We also got the HP Moblie remote control which I love 🙂
  • We got Altec Lansing® speakers with integrated sub-woofer for listening to some tunes
  • The eight cell battery should last about 4 hours.

Price tag: $1,149.99

Not bad. Not bad at all 🙂 I completely blew the $2500 price limit away.

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: Products