LCD vs Plasma: Which Do You Prefer?

Posted on February 12, 2009

1



“LCD or Plasma?” That simple question has sparked so many debates all across the world. Now by LCD vs Plasma I’m talking about TV’s and I happen to be lucky enough to have owned both (Samsungs), and I have to say I prefer the plasma.Now, there are many reasons for this, but here are some of the major ones.

  • Better ability to display black. Plasma TV’s are generally better in terms of contrast ratio. Why? because of their ability to create “perfect black”. What that is is when the TV is displaying black, thats all you see, black. But if you got to a LCD tv the blacks arent so much blacks as they are greys. Because of this, the contrast ratio takes a hit and images seem to appear washed out.
  • Better viewing angles. I was watching a bit of Nascar with my uncle today on the plasma and I noticed that even when I stood almost directly to the side of the TV I could still clearly see what was going on. But back when we had the LCD I remember not being able to stand more than ninety degrees away from the tv before I couldnt see anything.
  • Also, plasma TV’s dont bl;ur as easily. Now every LCD user knows that if you’re into a fast action scenein a movie you can clearly see these “linear blurs” as I call them. These can get quite annoying.

Overall I say that if you’re in the market for a new TV, get a plasma.

Posted in: HDTV, Products