What I Expect In Windows 7

Posted on January 5, 2009

0



With Microsoft’s new operating system, Windows 7, right around the corner, many of us geeks are getting anxious to sink our teeth into the public beta. I am no different. Although I am anxious to try the beta I am also nervous about it. I have my expectations for Windows 7 and I really want them to either be met or at least come close to being met. So, what are my expectations? Here you go.

  • 64-bit architecture out of the box – Yes, this means a 64 bit operating system right out of the box. No hassles or anything, just pure 64 bit. Apple has been doing this for years and I think its time for windows to make the change too. Now, why does 64 bit make such a difference? Well, the simple reason is that it makes windows faster and able to utilize more RAM. How does it do this? Simple, if you are running a 32 bit operating system then you are limited to 4 gigabytes of memory, period. This is because 32-bit processor uses 32 bits to refer to the location of each byte of memory. 2^32 = 4.2 billion, which means a memory address that’s 32 bits long can only refer to 4.2 billion unique locations, 4.2 billion bytes = 4 gigabytes. Plain and simple. Now, lets check wikipedia to see what the memory constraints on 64 bit is, hmm?

“The emergence of the 64-bit architecture effectively increases the memory ceiling to 264 addresses, equivalent to approximately 17.2 billion gigabytes, 16.8 million terabytes, or 16 exabytes of RAM.”

Now I am assuming that all you gamers out there know that 17 billion Gigabytes of RAM is more than enough to play Call of Duty.

  • User and Power User Friendly UI – Now you all know that there is a clear difference between your average user and your power user. For instance, my mom is a user; she logs into her computer, checks email and syncs her ipod and chats on msn. Thats it. Then, on the completely other side of the spectrum is me, the power user. I log in, and do a whole crapload of stuff consuming countless hours of my time…and then I sync my ipod. So as you can see, users and power users need to have vastly different tools and functions at our fingertips on a daily basis. Now, the problem is that when designing the UI in the past, Microsoft has always ignored us power users and focused primarily on giving the new users a nice glossy fresh stylish interface and not really caring about power users. What I would like to see more of is maintaining that easy to learn UI and yet combining some cool power user features into it. Sort of a hybrid. You see what I’m getting at?
  • Better backup utilities – You know how hard it is to find a good, non-internet based software to back up your files on a regular basis, right? I mean, I am not saying that on-line backup software is bad but most of the services out there dont handle very many files and the only one that offers lots of storage for free doesn’t have any backup features. yes, what we need is an application included in windows that can automatically back your files up to wherever you want in a nice, easy to use interface for beginners, yet powerful and customizable enough for power users to use.
  • Clean, reliable and powerful – Lets get straight to the point on this one. Basically what I want is a slimmed down operating system yet with the features and power to get the job done and that can handle most of your devices without an issue. A geeks dream.

So, thats all from me on what I want to see in windows 7. What do you want to see in Windows 7? Just email me at techtalkwithchad@gmail.com or sign up for our Forums at http://www.techtalkwithchad.co.nr/forums.htm

You won’t regret it.

