Video Downloading

Posted on July 24, 2008

2



The topic of this article is “Video Downloading” but it is about what is going to happen to my youtube show and my website in the future. I am writing this to address something that I am going to be doing quite soon.

When I become a youtube partner I am going to make my videos avalible for download on my website. However, downloaders will have to pay a small fee starting at $1. Why is this going to happen? I will explain something about the youtube partner program and hopefully start to understand.

In the youtube partner revenue sharing program partners get to enjoy the benifet of putting ad’s on thier video view page. Now, some people think that youtube partners make a fairly large amount of money from this but the truth is far form that.

Each time an ad gets clicked, the owner of the video (Assuming that he/she is a partner) gets $0.15. Now, only about 1 in every 1,000 people click on this ad. So if your videos average about 2,000 views in the first 5 days and you have just that one video in the revenue sharing program then you will make 30 cents every five days. Now if you have this video up for one month you will make $1.80 (Not very much). Now, do the math yourself and see how much you would make with the amount of your youtube videos.

So, what does this have to do with the downloading? Well, what if people started viewing the highr-quality downloads instead of watching the youtube content? I would lose money. So, thats why I have the fee. It starts at $1.00 but if I start getting a few thousand more average video views I will lower the price. If I get less average video views I will raise the price.

So, I hope you understand this and by the way, I am not a partner yet 🙂

www.youtube.ca/partner to learn more.

Posted in: Uncategorized