How To Start A Blog

Posted on March 22, 2008

2



I have a blog at chadt4.wordpress.com (You probably already know if you are reading this) that I post to almost every day. I started blogging quite a few months ago and have been hooked ever since. Well, my good friend who goes by the handle tech-talk in our chat room on our web site is quite new to the world of blogging and he asked me how he could start his own blog after he read through mine. Well, tech-talk, here are my tips on how to start a good quality blog. Remember, these should be followed in order.

  1. Start small. You should start with just a simple pen and paper and/or a word prossessing program such as Microsoft Office or WordPad. This is good if you are away for your computer for long periods of time or are on a long car ride. Bring some notebooks and a pen and start writing your blog entries. Remember, this doesnt have to be a technology blog. You can use your blog as sort of an electronic journal and write to it daily/weekly/monthly. Or you can use it for other things. Remember, It’s up to you!
  2. Okay, once you are done writing your blog entries down on paper/or on the computer. It’s time to show them to your editor. Your editor is the one who sees if your work is ready to be published. In this case, a friend could be your editor or even I could take up th job! Youi can email me your writing at techtalkwithchad@gmail.com if you are unsure. If your editor says that it is good, then move on to your next step. If not then go here: https://chadt4.wordpress.com/2008/02/26/how-to-create-a-good-blog/ .
  3. Your editor has approved your work. Now it is time to publish! This is the step where we find an appropriate publishing service for you and show your fiorst blog entry to the world! Okay, so you are ready to publish? Well, first of all you should find a good publishing service. The service that I use is a wonderful website called wordpress.com, it is a really good blogging site for beginners and veterans of blogging. The popular wordpress.org is also a good choice. Also, http://blogs.msdn.com/ is a good place to go if you are a geek that wants to talk tech. Hm..sounds like I should be there.. Also, the ever-popular Freewebs.com allows you to add a blog to your site. That is great for beginners and is what I did for my first blog. The last (but not least) blogging site is Blogger. This is a very popular site and I think you really should use it.

Well, thats all for now. Remember, send me a link to your blog if you want!

Posted in: How To