How to Keep It Safe Online

Posted on March 6, 2008

0



I was hacked on September 23rd, 2007 and people sometimes tell me who they think hacked me and I always tell them that I don’t care anymore the truth is that if I didnt get hacked then I probably would not have nearly as many subscribers and video views as I do now and I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog post. Anyway, here are the top 5 tips on how to play it safe online.

  • Have a strong password! Try and use as many numbers and symbols as you can, and try to use at least six letters. For example: flames could become ca1gar7f1am3s. Also, try and make the password something that would be hard for others to guess but easy for you to remember.
  • Don’t easily trust online stores. Do your homework! When buying on eBay or any other online store, check the sellers rating, reviews and comments. If it is not close to perfect then do not buy from that person. Also, you should download a free program for IE6, IE7 and Firefox called Mcaffe Site adviser which gives the site that you are visiting a rating (Green is good, Yellow is Caution, Red is Warning and Grey is unknown.).
  • Use a  Limited account on windows. If a hacker gets hold of that password then he won’t gety very far.
  • Make sure that you are using a good anti virus software. AVG and Avast are good free ones 🙂
  • UAC IS YOUR FRIEND! No matter how annoying UAC is you must keep it enabled because it is protecting you from viruses!
    Posted in: Uncategorized